MOT Test Changes in 2018

09 April 2018 / Lindleys Autocentres

On 20th May, 2018, the UK's Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) is bringing into force major changes to the MOT Test. these MOT test changes  are designed to make it clear the seriousness of different faults, with new fault categories being introduced. These changes bring the UK's MOT test inline with new requirements set by the European Union, under the European Union Roadworthiness Package.

These changes will affect all vehicles in the classes 3, 4, 5 and 7, covering all cars, motorhomes, buses, and goods vehicles, weighing up to 3,500kg. Diesel vehicles are also facing enhanced scrunity on emissions.

As part of these major changes arriving this year, faults on an MOT test will be categorised into 3 areas as follows.

Minor (Advisory) MOT faults

A "Minor fault" will essentially be the same as an advisory fault, as on the current MOT test. These faults do not present an immediate risk to safety, but should be fixed as soon as is feasibly possible. These issues, should they not be rectified, may cause an MOT failure in the future, so it is advised to have them resolved at a local garage before they become a bigger issue.

Major MOT faults

"Major faults" present a slightly different system. They will result in an MOT failure, with an MOT pass certificate not being issued. These issues present a potential safety risk to either the driver or other road users. Additionally, environmental issues will be classed as a major fault.

Before an MOT pass certificate is issued, these faults must be rectified. These faults do not directly class the vehicle as dangerous.

Dangerous MOT faults

The "dangerous fault" category matches the issues up to what is used in legislation. If a vehicle has a dangerous fault, it cannot be driven away from the garage, as it is specifically illegal to drive a dangerous vehicle. Dangerous faults pose an immediate risk to safety of the driver and/or other road users. These issues must be rectified or the vehicle is unable to be driven in a roadworthy condition.

MOT changes for diesel vehicle owners

In addition to new fault categories, the MOT test changes in 2018 are making it harder for diesel owners to pass. As part of an MOT test, petrol and diesel vehicles have to undergo an emissions test. For diesel vehicles, the level of dangerous pollutants emitted by the vehicle that are accepted is being reduced, which will make it harder, particularly for older diesel vehicles where the exhaust system may not perform optimally, to pass.

Finally, diesel vehicles with a diesel particulate filter will be looked at more closely, and any smoke emitted, of any colour, will trigger an MOT failiure, as a result of it being classed as a major fault.

These changes come as part of a package of changes and announcements from the UK Government in their Autumn statement, aimed at discouraging people from buying new or used diesel vehicles. It also comes on the back of tax hikes for vehicles in their first year of road tax.

Booking Summary
Selected location

No location selected.

Selected vehicle

No vehicle selected.

Selected date and time

Please select a date and time.

There are no items in your basket.